About Us

So, What IS ARES????

        ARES is part of the ARRL, the national association for Amateur Radio, which is the largest amateur radio advocacy and fraternal organization in the United States. Today, ARES provides the organization and guidance to help amateur radio operators to establish a local emergency communications group. Emergency Coordinators or EC’s work with local government agencies such as police, fire, sheriff, search and rescue and offices of emergency management to determine what emergency communications needs may exist.
        South Carolina ARES is divided into 6 Emergency Management Districts.
Each District will have a District Emergency Coordinator (DEC) who will work with the local County Emergency Coordinator (EC) to understand the local community’s needs, and organize resources to maintain a level of emergency preparedness. Although the primary purpose of ARES is to provide emergency communications, ARES members also routinely provide non-business communications support to other public events. 

For more information about ARES, please contact your local EC.

Hover over the name to send an email, or see email address in lower left hand corner

District Emergency Coordinators

SEOC – Statewide Roger Mull – KD4JQJ
Area 1 Michael Oakley – N9GSX        Area 5 Steve Sweetman – K6TAZ
Area 2 Bob Grudzien – KE7LJ              NWS Charleston Bobby W McBride – W4KSDF
Area 3 Earl S Dean – W4ESD               Area 6 Hollis Eddie King – N4HEK
Area 4 Donald Bryant – KB4RRC

County Emergency Coordinators

Abbeville David N Zugsberger – KL7FO          Horry Henry Harrison – AC2LB
Anderson James Littleton – WB4LZT                Jasper David C Sherron – KI4ROL
Beaufort James W Campbell – KB9LX               Kershaw Gary Anderson – K4HGA
Berkeley Linda Barbe Selleck – KJ4EVV           Lexington Bryan Jay LaGrant – KN4FXL
Calhoun Robert Bogan – AE3RB                           Newberry Dan Goldston – WD4NG
Charleston Richard F Valentine – N8BKN      Oconee Douglas R Patterson – N4AHO
Cherokee John R Phillips – N4JRP                      Pickens Mandell Rigdon – WR4XM
Clarendon Preston J Tobias – W4GSR              Richland Steven A Nixon – KC4UAL
Darlington Charles L Miller – KN4OMQ         Saluda Dewey (Buddy) E Willis – W4DEW
Edgefield Donald A Zupon – W3MIF                Spartanburg Paleather G Burnett – KK4UCE
Georgetown John B Costa – W1OJ                   Sumter John Paul Hartwick – KC5RDA
Greenville Robert S Webster – WR8RW       York John Paul Gendron – NJ4Z